2010 Bookseller Resource Guide
Collegiate Book-Collecting Championship
And the Winners are…
The winners of the 2005 book-collecting contests are listed below, along with the subjects of their collections and the prizes for first place. Some schools offer prizes at both the graduate and undergraduate levels.
Amherst College ($300)
William Miglore— Truman Capote
Arizona State University ($600)
Undergraduate: Karen Lackey— Chaucer’s Troilus and Criseyde
Graduate: Lutfi Hussein—Classic Arabic texts
Boston University ($1,500)
Adam Gitner— Classical Scholarship Under Attack: From Erasmus to Pound
Bryn Mawr College ($100)
Elizabeth Kestler— Science fiction and fantasy
California State University, Stanislaus ($150)
José García— Radical politics in Latin America
Cornell University ($1,000)
John Miles— Classic cars of the 1930s
Duke University ($500 gift certificate)
Undergraduate: Ryan Welsh— T. S. Eliot
Graduate: Kurt Fesenmyer— Natural history
Harvard University ($1,000)
Loren Bienvenu (tie)— Beat literature
Brian Distelberg (tie)— Edward Everett Tanner III (a.k.a. Patrick Dennis)
Michigan State University ($500)
Sara Doherty— Zines
Pomona College ($1,200)
Emily Heddleson— Outstanding personal library
Princeton University ($1,500)
Jacob Savage— Esoteric histories
Rhode Island colleges ($750)
Ryan Roth— Euclid and the history of mathematics
Scripps College ($200)
Name withheld— Gone with the Wind
Swarthmore College ($500)
Micah Horwith— Evolution of the epic
Sweet Briar College ($150)
Nell Champoux— Religion and philosophy
University of California, Los Angeles ($500)
Undergraduate: Margaret Anne Oakley— The feminine bildungsroman
Graduate: Vi Thuc Ha— Artists’ books
University of California, Riverside ($400)
Undergraduate: Kelly Czechowski— Travel books
Graduate: Rebecca O’Connor— Falconry
University of California, San Diego ($500)
Undergraduate: Michael J. Tetreault— The Silk Road
Graduate: Miriam Gross— Teaching Chinese history
University of Chicago ($1,000)
Benjamin Trofatter— Ancient Near East literature
University of Kansas ($600)
Undergraduate: Jay Kimmel— The Silk Road
Graduate: Erin S. Finzer— Central American and Caribbean literature
University of Michigan ($300)
Undergraduate: Valerie Ackley— The common man in the 1800s
Graduate: Justin Winger— Ancient Judaism and early Christianity
University of Minnesota ($700)
Undergraduate: Amber Burnette— Avian history and biology
Graduate: David K. Oosterhuis— Edgar Rice Burroughs
University of Montana ($375)
Leslie Galindo (tie)— Pharmacy books
Erin Cole (tie)— Eating disorders
University of Toronto/Victoria College (CAN$500)
Marta Balcewicz— Vladimir Nabokov
Washington University in Saint Louis ($1,000)
Undergraduate: Devin Naar— From Salonika to America and back
Graduate: Rachel Slaughter— 1950s literary criticism
Yale University ($750)
Noa Wheeler— Outstanding personal library
The following schools did not award a prize in 2005: Clark University (contest in even years only); Harvard University Hofer prize (even years); Hendrix College (not held); Johns Hopkins University (not held); Stanford University (not held); UC Berkeley (no award); University of South Carolina (no award); University of Toronto (university-wide contest starting in 2006); and the University of Virginia (even years).